License management

License center

You can manage licenses in the license center block of the settings. To open it, click the gear icon in the upper right corner and choose the โ€œLicense centerโ€ tab.

You can use the license center block for these actions:

  • check the license status

  • manage the subscription (renew or upgrade it)

  • add licenses to users or delete licenses

  • add or delete individual license admins or SharePoint groups

Assigning a license does not assign user permission to the boards. A user can have a license without having access to the board if you set it up that way in the admin panel.

Users with a license

The complete list of users with licenses is displayed in the โ€œUsers with a licenseโ€ list (scroll down in the โ€œLicense centerโ€ tab to find it). You can add SharePoint user groups in this field. In addition, you will see the list of users, not a group name. You can insert numerous SharePoint groups here; each user will only be added once, so you do not need to worry about duplicates.

Enable the "Auto-assign license" feature, if you need to assign users a license automatically when they're trying to access Kanban Board Pro for the first time.

If you have an enterprise license, the โ€œUsers with a licenseโ€ field does not appear because there is no limit for licenses in this case.

Last login time slider

The slider on the right highlights users of your organization who have not used Kanban Board for some time. You can move the slider to change the time and determine whether users are inactive (they will be highlighted in red) and how long it has been since they last used the tool.

You can also export the list of users in CSV format. The list will contain the name of the licensed users, their email, and their last login time.

License manager

License managers can be added/deleted in the โ€œLicense managersโ€ block at the bottom of the license center. If the field is empty, everyone has access to license management.

This is done to simplify the migration of the existing boards into the new permissions model.

License management is available only for the users added to the โ€œLicense managersโ€ field. Here are five things about license management to keep in mind:

  • A license manager is not obliged to have a license. The first person handling the subscription becomes a license manager. This person can add other users or SharePoint groups as license managers as well.

  • If the license manager field is empty, everyone has access. The probability of this event is very low, because of the special precautions taken. If at least one license manager is added, you cannot delete them from the field. If you delete the last license manager upon saving your changes, you will be added as a license manager again. This is done to avoid the accidental deletion of all license managers.

  • If there is at least one user added to the license manager field and someone is trying to access the license center, they will see the message below and should request access from the license manager.

  • If you are not a licensing manager, you can find license managers in the โ€œLicense managersโ€ block of the license center (in the โ€œAdd and delete license managersโ€ field).

  • If you accidentally lost the license admin permissions, you can request them back from any of the current License admins. For this purpose, the gear icon is always displayed. If you are not a license admin, you will only see the list of admins.

Admin panel settings

To open permissions settings, use the gear icon in the upper right corner and open the โ€œAdmin panelโ€ tab.

  • For new users/accounts or while installing the trial version, the admin panel menu will open for the subscription administrator. The administrator is shown in the โ€œAdmin panel managersโ€ field.

  • If you were the admin in the previous version of the permissions, you will be added as an admin panel manager.

  • With the new permission model, you are no longer able to delete the last admin panel manager. The current user will be automatically added to โ€œAdmin panel managersโ€ upon refresh.

  • The page of admin panel settings consists of two blocks: global settings and individual board permissions.

  • If you are not added to the admin panel managers list, you cannot access this block of settings. If you see the following notification, please contact one of the admin panel managers; they can provide you with access.

If you accidentally lost admin panel permissions, request it back from any of the current admin panel managers (just use the gear icon in the upper right corner and open โ€œAdmin panelโ€).

Global settings

Global settings define what actions will be available for general users for the whole Kanban Board app.

The โ€œUser avatarsโ€ setting allows using avatars from SharePoint or Office 365.

The โ€œTenant storage locationโ€ field displays the storage location of data needed to create the board layout. Please note that we do not store the content of your board on our side. Everything is kept on your SharePoint instance, in Microsoftโ€™s cloud.

The โ€œDefault user permissionsโ€ field shows permissions that are set by default. For the accounts that are currently using Kanban Board, the default permission is set to โ€œEditโ€ to provide compatibility. It has a โ€œNo accessโ€ value when first installed and โ€œEditโ€ when the app is updated.

The โ€œAdmin panel managersโ€ field allows you to add people who can manage the admin panel.

Remember to click โ€œSaveโ€ if you have made any changes to the global settings to apply them.

Individual board settings

This block consists of two fields for entering data and a search button. When you click โ€œFilter,โ€ the table with search results is displayed.

This field is designed to allow fast editing of multiple boards.

The table consists of four columns as follows:

  • Site collection with a hyperlink to the site collection

  • Board name with a hyperlink to the board that opens in a separate window

  • Board admins: users with access to board settings. There is a checkbox โ€œEveryone can edit settingsโ€ in every cell of this column. If there are no selected users in this field, the checkbox is checked by default. If the checkbox is unchecked, the field is active and available for editing. When a new board is created, ะตั€ัƒ user on behalf of whom it is added appears in the โ€œBoard adminsโ€ field.

  • Default user permissions are displaying the default access settings predefined for this board.

When any changes are made to the โ€œBoard adminsโ€ or โ€œDefault user permissionsโ€ columns, the โ€œSaveโ€ button will appear next to the changed field. Click it to save the changes in the table.

Types of board permissions

The following types of board permissions are available:

No accessโ€”users with โ€œno accessโ€ cannot view or edit boards or lists. If they try to open the board page, an โ€œaccess deniedโ€ message appears: โ€œYou do not have permission to perform this action or access this resource.โ€

View onlyโ€”โ€œview onlyโ€ users can view the boards, cards and attached files, history, and charts. These users cannot create, delete, or clone cards.

Editโ€”users with โ€œeditโ€ permission can view, add, edit, clone, and delete board elements (cards and attachments). They can also view history and charts.

Edit only own tasks โ€” this permission setting allows users to manage (view, edit, add, clone, and delete) assigned cards. They can view the boards, cards, attached files, history, and charts.

Pay attention to the default user permissions. If you are a board admin, you can override them for a specific board.

Last updated