# Permissions

Source: [https://docs.virtosoftware.com/docs/kanban-board-on-premises/kanban-board-settings/advanced-setup/permissions/](https://docs.virtosoftware.com/docs/kanban-board-on-premises/kanban-board-settings/advanced-setup/permissions/)
Product: Kanban Board On-Premises
Updated: 2026-08-12


You can specify whether other users or user groups are allowed to change the Kanban view, modify settings, or create, edit, and delete tasks.

![Permission settings in Virto Kanban Board controlling who can change the view, edit settings, and manage tasks](https://img-docs.virtosoftware.com/wp-content/uploads/2024/11/permissions_1-1024x369.png)

It is also possible to configure access to task management. Check the box **“User can manage only own tasks”** to restrict users from editing tasks they are not assigned to. This will limit task management to tasks assigned to them. Additionally, you can create a list of users with permission to manage all tasks.

*By default, the card creator or assignee is considered the card owner and is allowed to edit the card.*
